Character Profile: I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Meet Spencer!

Back from a European summer vacation, Spencer Preuss-Katt wants nothing more than to get through his senior year. And if the brooding artist is honest with himself, maybe to explore a relationship with a certain friend?

Here are some facts about Spencer:

* His moms are supportive of his art work and converted their garage into his studio.
* He never lets his best friends Bea or Gabe look at his serious art work.
* Like Bea and Gabe he is unpopular and is picked on for being quiet, skinny and short.
* He loves home videos of pets.
* He drives his grandmother’s 1970s diesel Mercedes.

Want to read more about Spencer, Bea and Gabe?

Enter for a chance to win a copy of I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl!

Book Cover of I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeilI’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil

Published October 18th 2016 by Balzer + Bray

Genres: Realistic Fiction

Add on Goodreads

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

From acclaimed author Gretchen McNeil comes her first realistic contemporary romance—perfect for fans of Kody Keplinger’s The Duff and Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone.

Beatrice Maria Estrella Giovannini has life all figured out. She’s starting senior year at the top of her class, she’s a shoo-in for a scholarship to M.I.T., and she’s got a new boyfriend she’s crazy about. The only problem: All through high school Bea and her best friends Spencer and Gabe have been the targets of horrific bullying.

So Bea uses her math skills to come up with The Formula, a 100% mathematically guaranteed path to social happiness in high school. Now Gabe is on his way to becoming Student Body President, and Spencer is finally getting his art noticed. But when her boyfriend Jesse dumps her for Toile, the quirky new girl at school, Bea realizes it’s time to use The Formula for herself. She’ll be reinvented as the eccentric and lovable Trixie—a quintessential manic pixie dream girl—in order to win Jesse back and beat new-girl Toile at her own game.

Unfortunately, being a manic pixie dream girl isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and “Trixie” is causing unexpected consequences for her friends. As The Formula begins to break down, can Bea find a way to reclaim her true identity and fix everything she’s messed up? Or will the casualties of her manic pixie experiment go far deeper than she could possibly imagine.

About the Author:

Author Photo of Gretchen McNeilGretchen McNeil is an opera singer, a writer, and a clown. She is also the author of Get Even as well as Ten, which was a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, a Romantic Times Top Pick, and an ALA Booklist Top Ten Horror Fiction for Youth and was nominated for Best Young Adult Contemporary Novel of 2012 by Romantic Times. Gretchen blogs with the Enchanted Inkpot and is a founding member of the vlog group the YARebels.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Instagram

 

Leave a Reply